getting older

Today is my birthday. To me it’s just another day.  My younger sister called and asked if I was still breathing, my stepdaughter called me an ‘old geezer’ (lovingly of course), and my youngest kids bought me a plaque in the shape of a dog that reads: “If you counted my age in dog years, I’d be DEAD!” I don’t dread birthdays, but I don’t relish them either. It just reminds me I’m getting older.   But it does make me stop and pause. I truly want to know God more. I am constantly reminded of Jesus’ words in Matthew 7. He speaks of the wise man and the foolish man. Before he gives a visualization of two men building houses, one on sand and one on rock, he speaks of “knowing him”.   I don’t want to stand before God and have him tell me that He never “knew” me.

As each year passes  as each “day” passes, I hope you will consider spending time getting to know God. My pilgrimage is to sharpen my hearing by pausing each day (hopefully many times throughout the day) and listening to him. It takes practice, it’s not easy at first. But like anything you practice – you become better.

I hope you become a Pro at it.

Published by docadamsblog

Thank you for taking time to read my Blog. Please feel free to leave your honest comments. I currently reside in Bend, OR with my beautiful wife Theresa and our two youngest children, Nikki and Aaron. We have six wonderful Grandchildren that I love to spoil. Theresa is also an accomplished songwriter. If you haven't heard her speak or been to one of her retreats, you are really missing out on a wonderful experience. Women are drawn to her infectious personality. For more information about our Spiritual Renewal Series, which includes Theresa's Women's Retreats: Sipping Tea With God, Reflections, and Boundary Lines - contact us at drdvadams@gmail.com or call (480) 398-6458.

Leave a comment